NCC COC PT Test

Yesterday was the physical fitness test that I dreaded for a while. Not because I was afraid of failing, but I haven’t done Standing Broad Jump in ages :/ People who failed to meet the criteria would be deemed unsuitable for the course.

I didn’t do as well as I thought I would, getting a D for Standing Broad Jump and C for Inclined Pull Ups. I’m not trying to be the biggest asshole over here, but being in a sports CCA right now (I should supposedly be at the peak of my fitness) I should have done much better than that. If I had the same performance in school I wouldn’t even be able to meet the requirements of NAPFA Gold.

Anyway, I guess many girls were disadvantaged because of Inclined Pull Ups (and Standing Broad Jump?). I expected to see a metal bar similar to that we had in schools, the type with a 2nd lower bar to hit. But nah there was only the first bar, so it became something like inclined chin ups.

I don’t understand why but I know after elimination half the girls ended up going home. And I just thought it’s pretty unfair because it is definitely different from what we do in school. Also, there were some people waving up and down (like what Mr John Tan said, caterpillars) who had their scores counted; some people doing standard ones which wasn’t counted because their chin is not long enough to touch the bar. I don’t think it was a very fair test…

I guess physical standards are important in determining whether you are fit enough to lead your cadets in physical strenuous activities like orienteering, but I agree with what my friend said, I don’t think it should be a yardstick in determining a person’s suitability for the course. Physical fitness isn’t telling of someone’s leadership capabilities. But who am I to say this, I can’t think of any other way that could be a better measurement.

Now that I passed, I guess I’ll have to be ready for the 3 weeks of course. I’m not sure if I will enjoy it, but oh well I signed up for it willingly, will just have to see how it goes.

I pray all 6 of us RV kids end up in the same syndicate though. That would make things a lot more bearable ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “NCC COC PT Test

Leave a Reply

