My 3rd maid

My maid has probably boarded her flight by now.

At the age of 5, I cried when my maid went to the hospital for a tummy ache. I lost my bedtime companion!

At the age of 12, I cried for several weeks when my maid of 12 years went back permanently. The added fact that technology was practically useless at that age meant that I lost contact with her permanently, too.

At the age of 15, I didn’t really grow a deep affection with my second maid so I was pretty nonchalant when she left.

And now at the age of 18, I am really happy that my maid is returning home (and coming back after 2 weeks).

The passport hassle, having to visit the embassy again and again, having to fill in tons and tons of paperwork did not faze her at all. For a few weeks she has been packing her things everyday, asking us what we want from the Philippines, telling us how her return was a surprise to her hometown (village?) because she didn’t inform anyone apart from her family that she was returning. I feel really really excited for her, too, because it’s been 4 years since she met her family members. 4 freaking years!!!! I can’t even imagine being apart from my family for such a long time, not to forget she doesn’t have Skype and all that nonsense that aids communication.

But…. now I need to wake up slightly earlier to boil water and fill my water bottle by myself… Buy my own dinner, cut my own fruits, wash my own clothes, make my own bed…. ok oh no pampered bitch speaking please don’t judge xoxo I can iron…. you.

Hope she has a safe flight! The aviation industry has been pretty scary lately 😦

Leave a Reply

