MIDS Underway

I must say this day has been long-awaited. Air Wing had their social night late June, Army had it early July (I mean, the end of their Service Term!) Guess what Service Term hasn’t even ended yet. HAHA. But I am not complaining- I’m spending the last few months before heading off to studies very very productively. On hindsight I’d pick this busy slave life over whiling my time away for 3 months at an office anytime.

IMG-20150827-WA0036
IMG-20150827-WA0064
I thank these Tigers in advance for helping me get through the 2 weeks of MSTD. May I laugh heartily everyday, and also laugh at my current predicament (first MOW first 180s first CO lunch okay no one understands LOL).

IMG-20150827-WA0057
11/13 initial FNOs, missing Yi Ling who doesn’t want to wear a dress and Gayle who’s already enjoying her studies abroad!!! πŸ™‚ Shipboard life is so so so quiet now and MIDS wing just seems so much emptier without them. After the 3 of us go I can expect the wing to be so much more quiet….. sigh. The feeling of being the only female in the division, falling in as the only female, never having a female to head back to the cabin with you, never having a female to accompany you to the heads, no female to scissors paper stone to see who loses and has to head up to the cabin to grab something.

No matter how female-friendly policies get, I guess the best female-friendly policy is to have more females. They are such important pillars of emotional support. I remember opening the cabin door to see Joyce not showered, probably smelly, waiting patiently to ask me what happened after the Astronavigation examination. I was tearing that day lying alone on my bed, realising how empty wingline has become, (cheesily) along with my heart.

You don’t realise how important girls are to you. Males don’t suffice at all. 😦

IMG-20150828-WA0033
The annoying shore leave sluts, sorry MIDS wing, it’s all our fault.

IMG-20150827-WA0046
The most screwed up picture of the entire night- not screwed screwed up but more of messed up HAHA. But happy for things that can happen today πŸ™‚

IMAG5671
Thought this was an interesting picture- thanks for coming to my Underway even though you ought to because I went to yours. One year on- I guess a lot has changed, but nothing has changed since 4 years ago. I’m really thankful and you know it.

I’m sailing tomorrow. I feel so sad to say this: it’s my last few nights in Singapore. 5 nights left in Singapore. Last few nights sitting in front of my HP computer (not a laptop), typing away at a blog post, listening to Chinese in the background because my brother’s catching up on his Hong Kong dramas from 8pm/9pm while my background Chinese music tries to compete with all the Chinese dubs.

I walk through Orchard, I walk through Clementi, I walk through the Jurong Point to reach the same outcome again and again. I know I’ll miss Singapore so so so much and how accessible everything and everyone I love are. How they’re literally a text/call away, how I can easily “dinner tonight?” “meet up tomorrow?” to someone I want to catch up with. These won’t come easy once I go abroad.

IMG-20150816-WA0020
The day I said bye to Gayle.

And soon enough, I’ll be saying bye to this home of mine, that has brought me so much comfort in the past 18.5 years. It really scares me to even think about it.

IMG-20131203-WA0013
My flight buddy/UCL Geog buddy/RV Red House buddy. Never thought we’ll relive this shot (soon) when I took the selfie in 2013 πŸ™‚ Life is truly full of surprises.

Leave a Reply

